top of page
Search

Sneak Peek


Gymani

“How many hours have you been here, Dr. Benson?” Chief Yukon asked me, handing me a cup of coffee.


He was the youngest chief of staff in Jonesboro approaching age forty, yet he didn’t look a day over thirty. Oh, and he didn’t fuck like one either. I would know since we were once friends with benefits along with him being my superior.


“Depends on what time it is,” I replied, accepting his kind gesture.


It soon warmed my lips as I took a sip and its taste was beyond good, but what did I know? Not when most of my nutritional intake consisted of hospital food.


“Hmmm, thank you. Just the way I like it.”


That was dark, no cream with three packets of sugar. Dark and sweet—just how I liked my man. That is if I had one.


Being an ER physician meant you were married to your career… literally. If I needed my womanly parts attended to, I kept a few men in rotation that could get the job done. Men I would never desire to have anything with except a good time, thus the reason I’d broken things off with Chief Yukon.


Our friendship and career were more important, so we settled for these quiet moments alone as friends. Well, at least I did. He, however, seemed to play with fire like I knew he was about to. I saw it in his eyes, heard it in his voice too. I then faked a yawn as an indicator of our time together was nearing an end.


“You should really take a few days off. In fact, I insist,” he suggested, setting me up for what I knew was coming next.


“I’m sure,” I replied with a smirk.


“Come on, I have fresh doctors eager to dive in and get their hands busy in the ER. You came eight years ago and if you missed a day, it was just one. You really need to take care of yourself or at least let someone take care of you, Gym.”


And there it was. His use of my first name quickly shifted his suggestion from a professional to a personal one, especially since our slip up a month or so ago. He’d caught me fatigued. My guard was down which led to me having my legs wide open for him… in this very same breakroom.


“Fresh doesn’t mean more equipped and I take care of me just fine, Harrison,” I countered, finishing my cup of coffee off in a few gulps.


“So, you do remember my first name?” he jested with a grin, reading me all wrong. I knew when he came in here, I should have fetched my own cup of coffee and left.


Unfortunately, I didn’t. Within seconds, his large hands were kneading the muscles in my neck, shoulders and back. His touch quickly caused my pussy to jump. Jump so much, I felt my legs involuntarily opening. My head fell back and soon his lips grazed my neck.


“See, you’re all tight. You needed this, Gym. Why deprive yourself?” he hissed, sucking softly on my earlobe as one hand grazed over my center.


Oh fuck, I was in trouble, maybe because he was in a relationship. A committed one at that if she had to tell it. Her name was Dr. Adler, head of our Psychiatry department.


While they’ve been on again and off again for the past three years, they were definitely on, and she made sure everyone knew it. There wasn’t a day she didn’t come to the hospital that she wasn’t chasing him down and feeding all of the staff on each floor. It was, however, right after she feed him first and, I’m pretty confident that came with some pussy too.


“Yeah, I guess I do need some rest,” I declared, fighting so hard not to roll my pelvis as he massaged my mound. Oh my God, it felt so damn good. “But not now,” I managed to get out, pushing him away which wasn’t an easy feat.


“Tell that to your body.” He chuckled, shaking his head as I stood up and roughly swiped my hands down my scrub bottoms. “Calm down, Gym. I just care about you. Aren’t you tired of just working?”


“No, it’s the highlight of my day and night.”


While being facetious, it was true. It was all I saw growing up since my father was an ER physician too. My poor mother barely received any of his time and while she was foul for leaving him with two children, I got it. She’d made a commitment to him before God while he’d made a commitment to save every life his hands touched instead of their marriage.


“Fine,” he said, raising his hands in mock surrender. “Let me at least find an available room for you to sleep in… just for a few hours. I promise that no one will even think of interrupting you. Not even me,” he added, and I laughed.


Yeah, right.


“No, no.” I grinned, contesting with one hand lifted in the air. I just needed some air and space in between us. A hand he quickly he took and kissed the back of. “Dude, my hands are not clean.” I frowned with a smirk.


“We’re in an ER. We wash our hands damn near every five minutes, woman. Please,” he fired back playfully. “I promise that if we receive any whacky bike accidents, broken bones from that crate challenge, or anything where you can snap a few bones back into place, I’ll wake you up.”


He was joking but the truth of the matter was that I did get a rise out of working in a fast-paced, broken bone, bloody environment. There I did my best work and where I was the best version of myself.


Once I headed for the door to leave, a firm grip on my forearm prevented me from leaving.


“Harrison, please,” I begged as he tugged me toward. “Okay, what now? I’m finally listening to you and following your instructions. The nap won’t come to be in here eye and body wrestling with you,” I teased when he dropped his eyes and took a deep breath. “Hey, what’s wrong?”


“Nothing really, but there is something that I need to share. I tried at least five times this week, even when you first walked in and I saw us alone.”


He was stalling big time. This was serious. I just hoped he wasn’t about to tell me that he was dying. In love or not, I’d come to care for Harrison a great deal.


“We’re good, Harrison. Always will be. Just spit it out.”


“Okay,” he sang lowly, releasing me. “Samantha and I are getting married. There, I said it.”


What the fuck did he just say?


I blinked a few times, even pushed out some weird gurgling sound. It could have been an awful attempt at laughing that somehow morphed into a coughing fit. It was so unexpected and volatile, I bent over trying to breathe.


“Shit, Gym. Breathe.” He then clasped one of his hands around my wrist, while quickly rubbing my back with the other. “Are you okay?”


Fuck no, I wasn’t okay. Just because I didn’t want to be with him didn’t mean I wanted him to get married and to the woman every fucking body loved here.


Holy got damn fuck.


“Did you just say married?” I scoffed, trying to keep my disappointment at bay as I took slow and deep breaths.


“Yeah,” was all he offered.


“But why?” I blurted out.


See, that didn’t last long. There it was—my obvious disappointment. Suddenly, the taste of bile traveled up my throat, and I felt ill.


“She asked,” he said with a shrug as if that were a good enough reason to be tied down to someone for the rest of your life. Well, not just anyone, but still.


Then it hit me.


She was a great fucking catch— top of her class from Harvard Medical School, tall, full-figured with the smoothest tawny complexion, and extremely ambitious. So ambitious, she went for the chief position even after he announced he was being considered. Rumor has it that she withdrew just so he could receive it. I pray she hadn’t but her applying alone was some boss ass shit with a psychiatry background.


Instantly, I felt like a fucking failure. A real one and it had nothing to do with my parents. It had to do with me. All me. I lacked the capacity to love another human outside of my father, sister, best friend and godson. Everyone else might as well be a can of spam.


“Wow,” I replied, taking a step or two back. “So she really did ask?” I repeated as if I needed to hear it a second time.


“She did.” He pressed his lips together, before the corners of his mouth lifted on each side in a goofy-like manner. This bitch was smiling as if he were happy. I mean really happy.


“I—I don’t know what to say.” It was a moment of honesty, I suppose. Too honest since I couldn’t leave it at that. I just couldn’t. “So, that’s all it took?”

I crossed my arms, fighting my back tears that somehow had willed themselves to appear. Again, I wasn’t in love with him at all. I was just… confused.


“That and that I love her,” he confessed, that goofy smile broadening. “Not enough to propose but I guess once she did, it felt right after all of these years of us being together.”


All of what years after you just fucked me just a month ago?


For the first time in my life, I felt played when it was me that did all the playing before. I was the one that dragged my lovers, toyed with them. Me.


Now the joke was on me.


Coming 1/31! Are you ready?

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page